White Paneling with Black Trim Detail

ORC Week 3-Halfway

If you’re new here you can catch up: Week 1 / Week 2

Ok, let’s start with the good news.

I got the frame built, painted and hung for my faux-transom-really-a-mirror-window!!  I even added brass L-brackets, and straight mending brackets to jazz it up, add some flash, and tie it back to the vanity…just in case them being the exact same color doesn’t already do that.

However, hanging the mirror was more complicated than I thought it would be.  The clips are too low on the bottom and too high on top, so I had to cut up cardboard for spacers to level out the bottom and the top clips are swiveled at an angle so only part of them is holding the mirror in.  I will do a permanent fix.  Wouldn’t want that falling on Peanut while she is in the tub.

Oh, and I dumped the quart of Valspar Twilight Afterglow in my bathtub while I was painting the  back wall. so I could hang the mirror, so I’m not sure I’ll have enough paint to finish, and it was expensive paint, but I have mint on hand, for FREE.  Maybe it was the universes way of telling me the coral color wasn’t right?  I’ll figure it out.

Now hanging the light was a whole ‘nother frustration.  I was silly to think it would be easy.  None of the other lights in this house have had the correct hardware to allow me to upgrade the fixture, but I at least thought there would be a box behind the existing light.  Nope.  Just a hole with a wire hanging out.  Seriously? So, I had to reinstall the existing fixture and head to the hardware store the next day.  Add to that I got the wrong box the first time, and needed a hole or drywall saw to make the hole big enough for the new box.  Luckily I have an entire box full of spare light parts so the box was all I needed.

Oh, and I thought I wold be fancy and add the straight mending brackets to the faux drawer on the vanity, but they are so very crooked.  Not sure how I’ll fix that…putty the holes and start over?  I jumped the gun and tried installing the pulls before the template tool came and now those are crooked, too.  Ugh…just don’t look too close at the reveal pictures, please.

I made some progress on organizing the linen closet, but no painting yet.  I’m not looking forward to emptying it out to paint it, and have all that stuff laying about with a 2 year old running around.

I primed the doors and trim and I LOVE how the white opens up that end of the room!  It makes it feel so open!  No way am I going to paint them Midnight Oil.  I’m leaning towards a thin trim detail design, like this amazing picture from Mimosa Lane

White Paneling with Black Trim Detail

Next week is week 4!  I can’t believe it’s half over.  I don’t feel anywhere near halfway done.  I need to figure out wall decor, and no matter how fast I paint, I still have to wait for it to dry before I can add a second coat or tape off a design.  I have the hardware for a fixed shower curtain rod, but still have to figure out placement, and find a time to drill when Peanut is occupied or isn’t sleeping, since her room shares a wall with the bathroom

In the interest of honesty, I’m pretty upset with myself for picking last weekend to start the Game of Thrones series.  I couldn’t stop watching, and I know that time could have been used to work on the bathroom.  Ugh!  But I will give you two reasons why you should watch it:

Jon Snow and Robb Stark Game of Thrones Season 2Jon Snow and Robb Stark!  Seriously…YUM!  Look at those lips!  Plus, there is Khal Drogo or Jaime Lannister,  There is something for every taste.  Oh, and the storyline is pretty unpredictable, too…you just don’t know what these people are capable of.

Sorry for the wordy and mostly picture free post, next week will be full of teasers, I promise.  Thanks for popping in to see how I’m doing!

Head on over to Calling It Home and see if anyone else is having as many problems as me.

Love Candy

14 comments

  1. Love your door inspiration too! Hang in there, we’ve all had rough weeks at some point. I agree with Linda, try returning to the store to see if they’ll replace it. I have a huge coral crush and using coral and mint for my glam office makeover. Let’s do this! Sarah, Sarah Sofia Productions

    Like

What do you think?

